Seal the Seal…ion?

September 8, 2009

25th of July, 2009
There’s a difference between seals and sealions, apparently. I don’t know if that’s common knowledge and that maybe I’m just an idiot (and also the last person to find this out) but I never knew. I thought the word ‘seal’ was short for ‘sealion’. Am I stupid? I blame the schools.
The wildlife programme I was watching didn’t say what the differences were (which reinforces my theory that everyone already knows the differences) but they said a seal is like a cat, and a sealion is more like a dog.
My friends and I were at the beach the other day when we saw a seal, which we named Seal the Seal after Seal the Singer. Catchy, I know. Now though, I’m wondering is Seal the Seal is really Seal the Sealion? It doesn’t have the same ring to it, does it?

Further editing as of 8/9/09: Ah, so it’s not Sealion at all. It’s Sea Lion, as in lion of the sea. How clever I am to never have realised that. Anywho, here’s what I found today:
“Pinnipeds, fin-footed marine mammals, are divided into two categories: earless seals (true seals) and eared seals (sea lions). Earless seals like the Northern elephant seal and harbor seal are believed to have descended from a line of terrestrial mammals similar to otters. Eared seals like the California sea lion and the Northern fur seal are believed to have descended from a bear-like mammal. Adaptations like fins for mobility, blubber for warmth and hydrodynamic body shape help both species survive in an aquatic habitat.”
http://www.sfgate.com/getoutside/pinnipeds.html

So, they’re both Pinnipeds, but they’re still quite different from eachother… kind of. Interesting. I’m delighted that has finally been cleared up. I was losing sleep.

Leave a Reply

