Safety first, kids!

September 8, 2009

22nd of July, 2009

Don’t trust anybody. Listening to the news on the radio, my one link to the outside world, I heard that a 17/18 year old guy from my small little town assaulted a 30-year-old woman who was out walking her dog. Now, if you’re from some big city then I’m sure you’re shocked at my shock. Well, that’s kind of sad, but my town is so small that nothing like that ever really happens here. The main reason I’m shocked though is because it’s someone close to my age so I probably know them. Well, know of them, at least. It’s scary to think about. So todays lesson: trust nobody!

(Later that day): I was just reading the book I was telling you about yesterday and it said that some Jewish artists in 14th century Germany had to follow the strict biblical rule of not being able to draw anything with “the likeness of anything in the sky, or the earth, or in the water” because it’s almost like challenging God’s wonderful creations or comparing your own image to one of God’s (perish the thought). So to get around this, these artists would draw birds heads on the bodies of humans, because as far as they knew, there were no bird-headed humans on earth, in the skies, or in the water. Isn’t that brilliant? Genius. I’m not sure if it was cheating on their part, and surely cheating is a biggie in the bible, but it’s still great.
I learn a tonne from that book so I’m going to vow from this point on not to write anything else I learn from this book because otherwise I’ll just end up re-writing A.J. Jacobs’ work. Oh well, I suppose I’ll just have to learn two something-new’s every day.

Holla.

One Response to “Safety first, kids!”

  1. nome Says:

    That’s really cool. I love how people find loopholes within the laws.


Leave a Reply

